Hawassa Branch

Since 2004, the establishment of the Ethiopian Space Science Society has been striving to make societal attitude changes towards Astronomy, space science and technology fields , by engaging the society in different levels. In this effort, the society established 20 branch offices in different cities of Ethiopia, among them is Hawassa. The Hawassa branch is located inside the Hawassa University with over hundred members from the university community and the general public. This page aims to provide useful information about space activities taking place in Hawassa area,in the frame work of ESSS outreach and education program past, present and future.

About Hawassa University

Hawassa University (HU) was established at Hawassa in April 2000.Since 1976 the different colleges of HU had been operational starting with the college of Agriculture. The University has been formed by merging three colleges in Southern Ethiopia: Awassa College of Agriculture (ACA), Wondogenet College of Forestry and Dilla College of Teacher Education and Health Sciences.

Name e-mail Position
1. Fithagegnhu Markos Chairman
2. Jemberu Adamu Secretary
3. Ashenafi Belete  
4. Sintayhu Assefa    
5. Debebe Debiso    
6. Tesfaye Cheblew  

Copyright © 2019 Ethiopian Space Science Society. Designed by Techno Bros