Dilla Branch

Since 2004, the establishment of the Ethiopian Space Science Society has been striving to make societal attitude changes towards Astronomy, space science and technology fields , by engaging the society in different levels. In this effort, the society established 20 branch offices in different cities of Ethiopia, among them is Dilla. The Dilla branch is located inside the Dilla University with over hundred members from the university community and the general public. This page aims to provide useful information about space activities taking place in Dillaarea,in the frame work of ESSS outreach and education program past, present and future.

About Dilla University

The history of Dilla University is traced back to the year 1996 with its name, Dilla College of Teachers’ Education and Health Sciences. The then Dilla College constituted two faculties Faculty of Teachers’ Education and Faculty of Health Sciences.

However, in 2001, the College was included in the then newly emerging University – Debub University. When Dilla College began its function as a college, it had 12 departments with total student population of less than 400 in a campus that was originally constructed for another purpose.In 2006 Dilla College once again went through another phase and sprung into a full-fledged University by the Council of Ministers Regulation No. 129/06.


Name e-mail Position
1. Dr. Henok Tadesse Dilla Univ. Focal Person
2. Tewodros Eyob Chairman
3. Mekonnen Beyene V/Chairman
4. Sara Alemu Secretary
5. Tigneh Getachew Cashier
6. Tarekegne Tango Treasury

Copyright © 2019 Ethiopian Space Science Society. Designed by Techno Bros